Income protection insurance through your union - collective schemes and membership agreements

One collective income protection is automatically included in your membership – all members pay and are covered. An individual income protection policy is something you choose and pay for yourself, often through a discounted group agreement. If you already have collective cover, check whether an individual policy on top makes sense: collective policies typically only cover a smaller amount or a shorter period.

Last verified .

News

Dansk Metal provides free income protection from 1 January 2027

Up to 4,000 DKK/month on top of the unemployment benefits for up to 6 months - and membership fees is lowered by 100 DKK/month

Insurance company not disclosed. Time limits: report in by 30.11.2026 for lower quota from December and by 31.12.2026 for income protection without waiting from 1.1.2027.

See all terms →

Collective income protection (automatic membership)

HK Collective Income Protection

Fully paying HK member – automatically included

Price
55 DKK/month - charged with membership fees
On top of unemployment benefits
max. 38,292 DKK/month
Coverage
80 %
Period
Maximum 6 months (962 hours full-time / 780 hours part-time)
Qualifying period
9 months of continuous employment within HK's territory + 9 months of payment

Sources: HK: HK Collective Income Protection Insurance · HK: Insurance conditions (PDF) · HK: That's how much you can get out of HK Trade's Income Protection Insurance

Socialpædagogernes Income Protection

Paying member of Socialpædagogerne and Socialpædagogernes a-kasse – automatically included

Price
50 DKK/month (approx. 34 DKK after deduction)
On top of unemployment benefits
Not disclosed – see terms
Coverage
80 %
Period
Maximum 6 months (962 hours)
Qualifying period
1 year of membership and deposit (graduates: 6 months of employment + 3 months of continuous work)

Sources: Socialpædagogerne: Income protection insurance · Alka: Socialpædagogerne’s Income Protection

TL Income Protection

Member of TL and Teknikernes A-kasse – included in membership

Price
105 DKK/month (2026) - approx. 72 DKK after deduction
On top of unemployment benefits
max. 38,292 DKK/month
Coverage
80 %
Period
Up to 6 months per period of unemployment
Qualifying period
9 months of membership of TL and Technician unemployment insurance fund

Sources: TL: Get answers about TL Income Protection Insurance · TL: Income Protection Insurance Calculator · TL / Alka: Collective income protection insurance - conditions (PDF)

Dansk Metal free income protection (new from 2027)

Fully paying member of Dansk Metal and Metal A-kasse – automatically included

Price
Free – membership fees are also reduced by 100 kr./md. from December 2026.
On top of unemployment benefits
max. 4,000 DKK/month
Coverage
90 %
Period
Up to 6 months
Qualifying period
Member of the Dansk Metal and Metal Unemployment insurance fund by 31.12.2026: none. Submitted from 1.1.2027: 9 months membership

Insurance company not disclosed. Time limits: report in by 30.11.2026 for lower quota from December and by 31.12.2026 for income protection without waiting from 1.1.2027.

Sources: Dansk Metal: Reduced membership fees and free income protection · Ritzau: Dansk Metal lowers membership fees and launches new pay assurance (19.06.2026)

Trade unions' group agreements (you buy yourself)

3F Income Protection

Member of 3F and 3F A-kasse

Price
Calculated at Alka (70 30 05 07)
On top of unemployment benefits
Not disclosed – see terms
Coverage
90 %
Period
6 or 12 months - max. 36 payments in total (Alka's general terms)
Qualifying period
9 months

Minimum salary: 3F’s website states 27,830 kr.; Alka’s 3F brochure 2026 states 27,460 kr.

Sources: 3F: 3F Income protection insurance · Alka: Income protection insurance · Alka: Fact sheet individual income protection · Alka: Income protection insurance for 3F members 2026 (PDF)

Financial union members use A&TIL's income protection: see A&TIL Income Protection Basis and A&TIL Income Protection Flex (Finansforbundet: Income protection insurance).